Day 10: 34 meter above sea level

17 February 2023
Sargasso Sea

The day started unusually quite. As we learned later, we had stopped the engine completely and were now floating on the Atlantic Ocean, as we were ahead of our predicted arrival time. To dock in Bermuda, we need a pilot who comes on board and navigates the ship into the narrow port. But since this pilot was only booked for the 17th, we had one day of free floating.

It was decided it was time for a bathing stop in the Atlantic Ocean, which was spookily calm and without any waves that day. After setting out the rescue rings, we jumped into the salty clear blue water and enjoyed a refreshment from the warm sun. Taking a look at the 4000 m depths beneath us with the snorkel mask made me freak out a little, as it feels very bizarre being so far from any ocean ground and not knowing what is there below.

During the day, I got the feeling that everything was possible, as it was so beautiful. A wave of bravery overcame me, and since the Atlantic was almost like a mirror, I dared for the first time to climb all the way up to the very most upper sail, the Royal, which at 34 meters height. It took me a while, and I was clinging to the wants with full force every time a wave did come around, but I made it to the top eventually! From there, I could admire a majestic sunset while some people from the crew were singing and playing the guitar down below on deck. The combination of adrenaline and the beautiful music and view gave me goosebumps, and I enjoyed the moment that was a beautiful ending to this amazing day as long as I could.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started